Tuesday, photopicking… [Living in Holland]

I would like to take you with me on my tuesday in Holland and helping me to choose a photo...

This morning I woke up just like any other day, broken and still sleepy. I couldn’t sleep again last night, but that’s just how nights work for me I guess. So, I woke up with the sleep still lurching around me. After washing my face, brushing my teeth and putting on black lines around my eyes and my mascara, I woke up Frank’s youngest daughter of twelve. Together we had breakfast and as she went of to school I had to deliver the mail in this village. But man, it was cold! There was a little bit of snow laying around and a fierce wind tormented my face and hands. Struggling in the cold I thought about the warm shower I would earn afterwards. That always keeps me going. And as good Dutch people do we comment the weather by saying things like: ‘I wish spring would set in soon, because I’m bored with this winter weather. I lasts too long.’ And other people say: ‘The wind makes it cold, doesn’t it?’ I always answer them with a smile, even if it’s nearly impossible since my face was half frozen and most of the time with a confirmation. That, of course, depends on if I agree or not. When I don’t agree I say so.

Finally I delivered the mail, got into my nice warm house, ate some lunch and let my body temperature rise again. After my body had a respectable temperature I took a shower. I could have stayed in the shower for hours, but there were still things to be done like grocery shopping. I always go to the store when the children are at their houses eating lunch. And since Frank’s youngest daughter goes to her mother’s house for lunch and all the mothers are at home for their children, I can do my shopping when there are not a lot of people in the store. Isn’t this clever of me? Yes, I would say it is…

After putting all the groceries away at home it’s my time to decide what I would like to do. But this reminds me. Have you ever thought about doing your grocery shopping and how many times you have the groceries in your hands? First you get it from a shelf into your shopping cart, then you get it out again at the cash register. After you paid for it you put it in a bag or box, back into your cart to wheel it outside to your car. Then you have to touch it again to put it all into your car. You find your way home, open the car and again you have to touch it to bring it inside your house. When it’s in your house it’s not in its right place yet, so you have to pick up every single thing again to put it away where it should be. Did you count with me? I didn’t. Let me count for you, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6. Six times you have to touch the groceries in order to reach their final destination. But then you have to fetch some things again and start cooking; that’s seven! And eight when you have to throw it away! Wow! Don’t think about it anymore, Erica, you’ve done your duty today and now you can relax before you have to touch some of the items again to cook tonight… No, I think we’ll eat something from the freezer, some meal I already cooked some days before. I don’t want to touch the groceries again today!

After diner I’m going to a fotoclub. We have to bring a picture or two with us and the theme will be ‘structure’. Now here are some photos for example. My only problem is that I don’t know which one is best. Could you maybe take a look and tell which one you think is best as a structure photo? I’m still in the learning mode…

MrtStructureOrangestructureStructure4Structure5

