Life is art…

The first picture is a photo taken by Thomas Hawk. I saw this picture on my Google+ some time ago and instantly I thought of a detail of my work. I know there is a resemblance in colour and that’s it, but nevertheless I posted it. I really love these colours.

Today, when I was looking for some quotes to kickstart my day I saw this quote by John W. Gardner and it hit the nail on the head (translation: de spijker op de kop).

Life...

Another detail of the same encaustic work as the first…

My art is made without an eraser. The only way to erase my art is by leaving all the colours and stroke my iron over it. This means whatever I tried to make stays on the end result only in a different shape. So, life is what you make it. Everything you do, you have done and can’t get rid of it. You can only try to make it different, more to your liking. But the things you did stay in some shape or form. What’s been done is done, what’s been is said. Even if you would like to erase it, it’s impossible.

But when you could erase, what would you erase? I wouldn’t erase a single thing, because everything what happened to me made me the person I am today. And things really did happen to me; by-pass, thrombosis, blood poissoning, all around the age of 21. Later in life skin cancer. And to top it off, several failed relationships and dozens of movings… But, they made me the person I am today knowing to appreciate life and live life as if it’s your last day on earth. I keep on dreaming too, because that’s what makes life more attractive. Dreaming and fantasising are things I can’t do without. That’s why I make the art I do, to keep the spirit alive and kicking and hoping it will rub off to others too.

